Back to previous page
Texas CHL Application Process
5 Steps To Get A Concealed Handgun License
|One of the most common questions we receive on a regular basis is what is the process to get my CHL? The following paragraphs provide an easy-to-follow outline of the steps required to apply for and obtain a Texas Concealed Handgun (Carry) License (CHL) in Texas.
Note: Please click the graphics to the left or any of the embedded links below for more information.
Step 1: Check Eligibility
Before you apply for a CHL, it is important to ensure you meet the eligibility requirements as outlined in §411.172 of the Texas Government Code. This is important because the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will not refund any application fees if they determine you are not eligible.
If you have any questions about eligibility, please contact the Texas Department of Public Safety Concealed Handgun License Program Helpline at (512) 424-7293 or email them at: email@example.com.
See CHL Eligibility for more information.
Step 2: Complete and Submit A CHL Application
You must submit a Concealed Handgun License (CHL) application to the DPS. You may apply online or download a PDF copy of the application from the DPS CHL website and submit it in person, by fax or via U.S. mail.
Paper Versus Online CHL Application: If you don't want to submit your application online, you can download the required forms below and submit them by mail.
CHL-78A Original CHL Application
CHL-78B Address & Business History
CHL-78C Reported History
CHL-85 Authorization for Release of Records
CHL-86 Knowledge of Laws & Eligibility
Important: Submitting your application by mail (on paper) requires certain documents to be notarized and will delay application processing. It is strongly recommended that you submit your application online.
Step 3: Schedule a Fingerprint Appointment
In 2011, the DPS transitioned to an electronic fingerprint only process and uses an organization called MorphosTrust USA to obtain fingerprints. After completing a CHL application online, you will be given the option to schedule a fingerprint appointment immediately online. You can also visit the MorphoTrust USA website directly to schedule an appointment, but you must complete your CHL application first.
MorphoTrust USA has offices located throughout Texas. If, however, you reside in a county with a population of 46,000 or less and do not reside within a 25-mile radius of a facility capable of processing the electronic fingerprints, you may contact the DPS directly to request permission to submit fingerprints on an FBI fingerprint card.
Step 4: Register for and Attend a CHL Class
New legislation effective September 1, 2013 requires Texas Concealed Handgun License classes must be a minimum of 4 hours and up to 6 hours (plus written test and range qualification time). You must attend a qualifying CHL class that meets these and other requirements.
New, shorter classes area available
Ready Learning Academy, so register now or learn more about our CHL Class Details.
Step 5: Submit CHL-100 and Required Paperwork to the DPS
Upon successful completion of a CHL class, you will be issued a CHL-100 form that can be submitted to the DPS to complete your application process and obtain your CHL.
During the class we will provide detailed instructions regarding all required paperwork including where and/or how to submit it.
You have one year from the date of your application to complete your fingerprint appointment and submit your CHL-100 Class Completion Certificate. Your CHL-100 Class Completion Certificate is valid for two years after your CHL class.
A Note About Passport Photos: The Texas DPS no longer requires passport photos if you have a Texas Drivers License or State ID. Non-resident Texas CHL applicants must submit a CHL-6 form with passport photos.
We hope this has been helpful, but please contact us directly with any additional questions or if you need more information.